A Testimony of God’s Call – Part 1

By: June Quek

I come from a family of 25 people. My dad passed away when I was 5 years old & since then, my extended family including my grandmother, uncles, aunties and cousins have become very much part of my life. They provided me with the physical and emotional support that my mum, my sister and I needed during the early yrs, for which I thank God for.

Coming from a traditional family, since my dad’s death, it was only natural for my sister and I to take part in ancestral worship, which is considered an act of filial piety. When I was 16, I started to question the purpose of my existence, why I was born in this family, what’s the whole meaning of life and if there was someone out there in control. Looking back, I believe that this was the Holy Spirit stirring in me a desire to seek God.

I was presented the Gospel during one of the Easter Outreaches in Zion and readily accepted Jesus as my Lord and Saviour, fully convicted of my sins and believing that He is the Truth, the Way and Life. I did not have a smooth journey after I told my family about my decision to follow Christ. I was persecuted by the ones whom I loved dearly, but the Lord was faithful, and He saw me through those trials, which I now see as necessary for me in the deepening of my faith and trust in the Lord.

I went on to study in JC, followed by Physiotherapy course in Polytechnic. I’ve always wanted to be in the health care profession, helping people. During that period, I was also actively involved with the YF. My understanding of doing God’s will then, was to serve the Lord in my own capacity, and doing my best in my studies. I thought that YF and church provided me with the framework and good solid biblical grounding with respect to the truths in God’s Word and the intellectual knowledge of what we should do as Christians.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

