A Testimony of God’s Call – Part 3

By: June Quek

God gave me many confirmations that I was to remain in the marketplace. He gave me the privilege of witnessing to one of my patients and one of my colleagues who came to know the Lord within a span of 2 yrs. Some yrs ago, another unbelieving colleague told us christians to stop talking about Christianity and inviting her to church. She was so serious that she threatened us that there would no longer be any more room for friendship. By the grace of God, she came to know the Lord last yr and few days ago, she agreed to do bible study with me. I remember fasting for her because I felt so helpless that there was nothing I could do. And the Lord heard our prayers. Praise the Lord for that!

To be honest, I was oblivious to my own state of heart that I was pursuing excellence at work to build up my self-esteem and self-worth. It’s only on retrospect and on reflection that God revealed to me how I failed to integrate my faith and work. This was only possible with hours spent in quiet with the Lord, and allowing Him to speak to me because I was willing to listen. The fall brought about insecurity, doubts to self-worth and insignificance. The Lord showed me that my basic identity can only be found in being a disciple of Christ.

I think finding the will of God is not a single event. It is ongoing all the time. I’ve leant the lesson of total submission of my life to serve God’s purposes and to be constantly listening to the Lord’s leading so that my faith and other aspects of my life are not dichotomised but integrated.

As with all ministries, it’s not a bed of roses. There are constant tensions that exist between living for Christ and work ideals. I’ve learnt that God calls us to the marketplace to traumatize us so that through this trauma, we can exercise the grace and forgiveness to those around us and bring glory to Him. How else can we shine like lights in this perverse generation? Indeed, this is God’s will, to live out kingdom values and partnering with God in His sacred work even the most mundane work. It’s not about “building a career” because that has to do with the idea of planning route of advancement, pursuing and pushing, even punishing ourselves for recognition by human beings in organisations we work under and work with. It is about a paradigm shift in understanding our purpose and place in the marketplace as disciples of Jesus Christ.

May we all be true disciples of the Almighty God.

I’d like to leave you with verses from Jeremiah 9: 23-24. It’s God’s encouragement to me, and I hope it will also encourage you.

“Let not the wise man glory in his wisdom, neither let the mighty man glory in his might, let not the rich man glory in his riches:
But let him that glorieth glory in this, that he understandeth and knoweth me, that I am the Lord which exercise lovingkindness, judgement, and righteousness, in the earth, for in these things I delight, saith the Lord”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

