Spiritual Friendships

By: Joel Lee (PA Boy)

Grace be to you from Christ Jesus. As I am reminded Saturday by Mr. John Chong Ser Choon, we are constantly so busy with our lives to even have some time for friends to ‘chill’ with. Our mere conversations are basically based so much in ministry or the norm introductions like ‘How are you’ ‘I’m fine thank you’. That’s it. We don’t know really want to know deep down how you are dealing with you current affairs of life or your spiritual walk with God.

In John 15 v 12 to 17

12 “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.14 You are my friends if you do what I command you. 15 No longer do I call you servants,  for the servant  does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you. 16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. 17 These things I command you, so that you will love one another.

We as brothers and Sisters in Christ should always encourage one another in Gods Word spending valuable time like what Christ Jesus did with his disciples. Time he was willing to spend despite knowing that he has to fulfill his death on the cross. Furthermore it was mentioned that in church, we fail to see that even though we are in Church serving, we might get so caught up to ministry that we forget who we are serving instead. This reminds me of the story of Mary Martha, our relationship in Christ follows to his very commandments that we HAVE to love one another as Christ has loved us. In God, we trust for he has given us the help, advocate and counselor; The Holy Spirit. God is not the kind of God that isn’t relational, he is the triune God! Father, Son and Holy Spirit, the co existed before time! This closeness reminds me of marriage very evidently I see this in personal testimonies. As it is said the husband and wife are now joined as one flesh. Echadh, this relates to the closeness of the trinity as well. 3 persons, 1 essence.

Last week was a struggle for me as it struck me heavily on what my implications on the relationships I have with my friends during the times in my life (primary, secondary, poly, Church, NS mates) God has shown to me that he uses anyone (non Christian and Christian) to develop one’s faith in the Lord. I have friends whom I feel a burden to share the gospel with but my time is always in church, busy with PA ministry. Friends in church that I know but deep down I may not know they are struggling with issues. Friends whom I have seen since my younger days in church and they are not in any church at all for the matter. I thank God for his grace and mercy bringing me through tough times and he has shown me the way. For HE is the way, truth and life. Do pray for me as I try to share the gospel message with my friends to know my importance of ministry in the manner that is beneficial to the Gospel, to love my neighbour as myself and to love like Christ has loved us. As I continue my walk in Christ, I pray that I continue to do what I promised to do and to seek the Lord for he will prepare, equip and move me for the furtherance of his kingdom.

(For those reading please keep me accountable for I may lose focus and hope. Pray for wisdom and discernment in my relationships)

Grace, peace love in Christ

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

