The Seasons of Life

By: Elder David Leong

Snippets from Alyn Waller’s book Enjoy Your Journey:

Some Thoughts & Gleanings from Ecclesiastes 3:1-12

“When you play politics all your life – tricking and scheming to make life happen instead of allowing the will of God to take place in your life – life can wear your out.”

“There is a gap between where you are and where God wants you to be, and getting you there is going to include some challenging stuff.”

“There is a lesson in every moment. And going on to the next level depends on learning the lesson from the previous level.”

“You may be looking back, thinking about yesterday, or looking ahead, already worrying about tomorrow.”

“We don’t learn the lesson by asking why, but by giving thanks in all things. ‘In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you (1 Thess. 5:18)'”

“Some Christians get stuck and allow the worst times of their lives to define them, or the best days of their lives to define them.”

“Do not allow any season of your life to define you, and don’t let others define you by the seasons of your life.”

“It has gotten so that when I see trouble coming in my life, I’ve learned to praise Him even before I get into trouble.” i.e. punctuating life with praise.

“When I see things coming my way that I know I can’t handle, that just means that God is getting ready to teach me something new.”

“Ecclesiastes 3 teaches us that we need to move on from one season to the next – a time to be born, a time to die; a time to plant and a time to pluck what is planted; a time to kill and a time to heal; a time to break down and a time to build up. You need to move on. You can’t get stuck in either the mountains or the valleys of your life.”

“Paul said , “I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content” (Phil 4:11). What he was saying was “I’ve learned to handle the various seasons of my life, and to rejoice in all of it!””

“Life is not a series of non-sequiturs, not a bunch of unrelated happenings. You are on a journey, and as soon as you realize that, you will have a whole new perspective on your present situation.”

“Recognizing life as a journey helps me to avoid getting stuck in any particular moment in life. I can enjoy the moment, but i shouldn’t get stuck in the moment. I can hate the moment, but I should not let the moment define me forever.”

Ponder on this – Life is more than a series of unrelated happenings. It is a journey, an exodus from sin and selfishness to the Promised Land of a deeper relationship with God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Seasons of Life

  1. David Leong says:

    There is some truth in the first snippet as I have observed that in the lives of some people over the years. However, Waller is only partially right in that God is ultimately sovereign and He can still work out His purposes despite man’s attempts to “manipulate” life in their favour. Furthermore, many who try to manipulate or scheme through life will one day come to realise that there are some things which are beyond man’s control. That’s when we must acknowledge that God is God and we are not.

Leave a Reply

