The Fierce Urgency of Now

By: Danny Chua

Thought this is a pretty apt read for us. While we get used to hearing the voices telling us to slow down and smell the flowers AND count our blessings, on top of that, we know that a particularly urgent Mission awaits us all. But I don’t think we can follow Jesus’ Great Commission and make disciples as long as we tremble at the thought of starting little ventures for Christ first. Particularly, ‘someday I’ll start to immerse myself in Scripture’. Food for thought for me, as much as it’ll be for you.

http://withoutwax.tv/2011/05/16/the-fierce-urgency-of-now/

“We are not faced with the fact, my friends, that tomorrow is today. We are confronted with the fierce urgency of now. In this unfolding conundrum of life and history, there is such a thing as being too late. Procrastination is still the thief of time. Life often leaves us standing bare, naked, and dejected with a lost opportunity. The tide in the affairs of men does not remain at flood-it ebbs. We may cry out desperately for time to pause in her passage, but time is adamant to every plea and rushes on. Over the bleached bones and jumbled residues of numerous civilizations are written the pathetic words, ‘too late.’”

Martin Luther King, Jr.

I love this quote.

Sometimes you and I are paralyzed by procrastination.

We hide behind the idea of “someday.”

Someday I’ll ask her out.

Someday I’ll apply for that new job.

Someday I’ll have that difficult conversation.

Someday I’ll start to immerse myself in Scripture.

Someday I’ll start saving money.

Someday I’ll take that risk.

Someday. It might be the most dangerous word in the English language.

Don’t let “too late” sneak up on you. Stop aiming and pull the trigger.

Today is your day.

Now is your moment.

FILL IN THE BLANK: Someday I’m going to ___________________.

– Pete Wilson, Pastor of Cross Point Church, USA


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

